Sustainable Eco Villages

Русский Español Português English
teilasherwin, Paducah, , United States
Age: 34
Location: Paducah, Kentucky, United States
User Type: I am Serious about moving to an Eco Village
Last Activity: 28-06-17

Searching for a Home in CO, Wishing for an Eco Village, with my family of hard workers!
About Me

I am a 32 year old wife and mother of three. My husband is 34, our children are 11, 9, and 5. 

Right now we live in KY, I am from NH, born and raised, but moved here two years ago. We have a dog, a german shep/aussie collie, who is white with tan markings, and as sweet as a baby! Good dog, and we have one cat, also, very well behaved animal, who we may keep, or pass onto a friend... The dog stays though!

We know how to live small, and are missing the community part. The church community here is wonderful, but I am seeking much more, I think it takes a village to do anything, and communication with neighbors is important. I love to help others out, and would do anything I can, for just about anyone! My family is supportive, kind, and also very helpful. 

My husband and I are both hard workers, and I pick up things like second nature in no time. My husband did attend Job Corps, for Home Building and Construction, has also worked many landscaping jobs, and some factory work, plus some work in food customer service. He loves to long board, play with the kids and or dog, BBQ, and help me when working on crafts, or building things! Always takes out the trash, and is a man who is not afraid of housework, animals, and gardening!

I used to work for a Soup kitchen as the assistant cook, and then moved to a shelter for Vets, as the head cook. I also have worked in a woman's shelter, lots of experience in customer service, and also attended Job Corps for Business Tech, a long time ago! I have many college credits stacked up, in Early Childhood Education, Graphic Design, and Fine Arts, no degree though. About 90 credits in many different courses, with great to good grades, especially for being a mother of three. 

I am a great cook, I am what some people look at, as the scrap cooker, or the prepper cooker. I can cook with anything, I will make sure it tastes good as well! I love to craft, make jewelry, fix things, make candles, up-cycle, make make-shift furniture out of things I can find, great with kids. I love to grow a lot of my own food when I can, right now we have carrots growing, cucumbers, tomatoes, mint, dill, red leaf and green leaf lettuce, strawberries, blueberries, and a Hackberry tree in the back, not ours, but natures! 2 years back in NH, we grew Greenbeans, squash, zuchinni, and a few other items, same with last summer!

So I ramble, I love to talk, so do my babies, they are smart, sweet, and very helpful. My oldest loves to do the "man" things, same with my youngest, and my middle loves to cook, work in the garden, arts and crafts, and is amazing with kids and animals!!!


My Ideas and Dreams about Eco-Village Living

We would like to be in Colorado, in hopefully an Eco village, that has many members, or is forming! We would like to move in the spring of 2018. We are not rich people, we live simple already, one car, one person stays home, so no daycare, we make a lot of food from scratch, and grow our own!

We should have around 8K saved, which is not a lot. My husband would like to find work, at least part time, to have a bit of income, but would love to work for a place.

We are hoping to build our own home, natural building, possibly Cob Hybrid, with straw bale. Natural floors as well, and using solar, composting toilet, etc.

Due to having children, we would like to be closer to Boulder, Denver, Colorado Springs, closer to a big city, but not out in the city, if you know what I mean ;) 

Hoping to have a home that has a homeschooling co-op. We are not really sure about income sharing, but would do our share, to pay our way, whatever really needs to be done. Are not huge on co-living within the same walls, and would like to be in our own home, and hope to more somewhere, that would let us start building pretty quickly.

No looking to have something for free, but know we cannot afford those high cost buy in's that we see with so many communities. We want to fend for ourselves, and for our community, but are far off from even being close to middle class. As of right now, we have one income, and only bring in about maybe $30k all together.

I would love to work, or help somewhere in the community, and maybe later make a business of my own~


Information about teilasherwin
Interest Level In Eco Villages: Very High
Time frames that you would like to move into an eco village: Near Future - 6 months to 2 years
I would move into an eco village: Quickly - In one go
My preferred village type: Village with housing close to village centre
Preferred Size of Village: Does Not Matter
The group I belong to is is: A small family of 3-5
Village Details
Stage of Development: N/A
Looking for new people?: N/A
Education Centre?: N/A
Function Centre?: N/A
Holidays or Retreat Space?: N/A
Offering Eco Village Tours?: Yes
Provides Holistic Healing?: Yes

Add a comment:
  • (arrow)
  • (biggrin)
  • (confused)
  • (cool)
  • (cry)
  • (eek)
  • (evil)
  • (exclaim)
  • (idea)
  • (lol)
  • (mad)
  • (mrgreen)
  • (neutral)
  • (question)
  • (razz)
  • (redface)
  • (rolleyes)
  • (sad)
  • (smile)
  • (surprised)
  • (twisted)
  • (wink)